Post-CELTA Professional Development

In a departure from my usual Unplugged posts, this time there’s some technology to contend with. I’ve created a rough Prezi for a forthcoming CELTA session on professional development, and am looking for suggestions on how to improve it in any way, shape or form.

The idea is to play it and describe the various parts of it as I go, taking any questions en route. You’ll find (a now updated one) here. And I know I probably can’t justify that Unplugged sky picture in the middle, but, well, is it really so bad?

Please have a look and let me know what you think. All comments welcome.

11 thoughts on “Post-CELTA Professional Development

  1. Hi Chris,
    What a lovely idea! (I’ve been playing with these Prezi things recently, but am yet to use them with trainees or students, mine have been for completely selfish reasons, namely my CV!)

    I think you include a great range of ideas here, I can’t think of anything to add at the moment. The main thing is that this will be memorable for them because it’s not your normal run-of-the-mill powerpoint. Will you give them the link to be able to access it online too?

    Hope the Celta is going well so far; we’re done with this one on Friday so it’s the final push at the moment!

    Jem

    1. Chris Ożóg

      Glad you like it, Jem. The idea is to give them a link to a version with music so they can reference it again afterwards as many times as they want. I’ll let you know how the session goes. It’s next week.

      We’re in week 3 on our course just now and it’s been pretty plain sailing so far. One or two ups and downs, but this is to be expected on all courses. Enjoy your week 4 and don’t work too hard!

      Chris

  2. Chris

    I don’t think the Unplugged sky picture helps. Some people might see it as “that Unplugged sky picture” and will expect a connection to teaching unplugged, which is great if that is what comes next. Personally I find the open, lonely, empty road to be either too cliche or barren. On top of that I somehow don’t like the visual of a boxy literal photograph there in the middle. Everything els is so round and texty and non-literal. (except for the webpages(?). To answer your question: Put me down for a “Yes it is really so bad”.

    Regarding the prezi itself. I’d like to see more zooming to both hide sub points as well as disclose them. Take Further Training as an example. When I’m zoomed out enough to read “Further Training”, I can still clearly read “Online Teach….”, “Profes…”, “IHC..”, & “IHL..”. I think those sub points should really be smaller and perhaps hidden behind “Further Training”, so that we zoom in on them hidden behind/among the letters of “Further Training”. Or perhaps we find the letter “F” is comprised of “Online Teacher…”.

    I don’t think the IH Online page should be so big. Maybe you were trying to have it serve as a visual representation of “Further Training”? Trouble is the two bits compete for importance. I also suspect the webpage isn’t meant to be representative of a concept, but rather a visual of what you see when you go to http://www.ihonlinetraining.net. In that case, perhaps you shouldn’t see it at all at first, but only have it come into view as you move into the “Online Teacher Training” sub point. As it is now, you may be giving it unintended weight.

    1. Chris Ożóg

      Hi Chris,

      Thanks for the in-depth feedback. I agree on the picture, really. I put it in there to experiment with pictures in these things (I’m no professional as you can see) but will certainly take it out before I use it in a session.

      I’m just about to play around with it again and will try implementing your other suggestions, which seem quite perceptive to me. You’re right about the IH online page – it was meant to be what you see at the site so the trainees would recognise it.

      Thanks again!

  3. convidarte

    Hello Chris, I really liked the presentation. I only have a problem with it… I want to do absolutely everything on it!!! I actually would like to have a link for all the certifications, courses and acronyms you included. That´s all. For the rest, I think I need to get moving pretty fast… they say the world will end in 2012… Ha ha ha! I enjoyed the prezi very much. Thanks.

  4. Randomly searched for post-CELTA professional development, and came across this. Is the prezi still kicking around? And can I steal it for the session I’m doing instead of you in about 10 days? 🙂
    Thanks!
    Sandy

Leave a Reply

